Guest blogger: Erica checking in!

Our little quitter is a bit under the weather this week, so I’m taking the reins for this one.

The following image got a lot of attention on Reddit this morning, captioned “I do believe Florida knows how to speak Redneck.”

As part of their Tobacco Free Florida campaign, the US state is comparing the cost of chewing tobacco to 4WD tyres.

Billboard

It got me thinking not only about the reasons people quit, but also “What would the Victorian equivalent be?”

Firstly, as this billboard suggests, money is a big factor when it comes to making the decision to quit, along with family and health considerations, etc.

I’ve done a lot of research for my role within the Deakin Smoke Free Environment Group (along with having experience with the habit myself) and my thinking is that regardless of the contributing reasons, for someone to successfully kick the habit they have to WANT to quit. Yes, I know they’re bad for me. Yes, my friends and family hate it. Yes, I could be spending that money on something else. BUT I WANT TO SMOKE, SO I’M GOING TO.

So if you’re not ready or don’t want to quit, that’s ok, it’s just not allowed on campus anymore. But, if you have been thinking about making a change and you need some help, the smoke free website has some info. If you’re Deakin staff or a student, you can even attend a free hypnotherapy information session next Tuesday at 2pm on all campuses.

Secondly, what do you think the billboard would look like in Victoria? I’m thinking “One month of cigarettes” vs “Six months of coffee”. But I am a bean fiend.

Leave a Reply

