100 days #smokefree

Today marks 100 days without a smoke. Triple figures! This feels pretty good. Actually, better than three months somehow.

I spoke at a Health and Wellbeing expo last night, and while networking the room had a woman approach me to say that I was the reason she came to the event. Because she hoped I could inspire her to quit. Wow! Powerful and humbling stuff. Here are a few things I have learned over the past 100 days:

  • You and only you can make the decision to quit.
  • All those people that told me they ‘woke up one day and quit cold turkey and haven’t looked back’ are opposite to me.
  • I still miss/mourn/crave the habit/nicotine/action of smoking and that is okay.
  • I am proud of myself, while acknowledging that I am still an addict in recovery. It is still hard and that is okay.

Image

4 thoughts on “100 days #smokefree

Leave a Reply

