My Quit Date #smokefree

Okay, so my quit date has been set.

7 days from now.

March 10, 2014.

I’m mourning my smoke-free life already. And don’t even really know why. I have decided to go ‘cold turkey’. My family and friends know and have been very supportive, and my husband has decided he will give up smoking with me. Just knowing that I am nearing my quit date has seen me smoking a little more than usual. But from tomorrow, I am going to start cutting the odd ciggie out of my day. Like the second morning smoke and the one I have before I go to bed.

I have given some thought as to what my triggers are. The list is endless… I’m happy, sad, mad, relaxed, tired, buzzing, hungry, satisfied – I smoke. Basically smoking has been a part of my life for so long now that it is going to be like saying goodbye to an old friend.

Image

8 thoughts on “My Quit Date #smokefree

  1. Rebecca wishing you and your husband good luck as it’s not going to be easy! I gave up smoking some time ago and it is challenging but the good news is there is a lot more support now. Don’t be upset if you relapse – that’s OK – just try again until it gets a little easier and you will get there!
    Isabelle

      • Back in the day there weren’t any patches that I was aware of! I actually went cold turkey as I was sick of being sick – more lung infections etc each winter so quit Plus the nagging of my family really got to me. But I know from other people that patches can be very effective and if not talk to your GP as there is really good medication out there now

  2. I have the prescription for patches if cold turkey fails me. Yes, the smoking does impact your health. I am pleased that you quit – and will bear your story in mind as I try to do the same. 🙂

  3. mum I am so proud of you and Matthew as well. I know you can do this and even if it takes a thousand goes it is better than none. I love you so so much and know I am there cheering and supporting you through every day!! xxxx

Leave a Reply

